Skip to main content


Library: About Us

Photo by Saw Pre Pre Twang of library back room

The Maria College Library is the heart of the campus! 

We are here to support your educational and research endeavors by providing resources, both in print and electronic.

Our mission is “to support the educational programs at Maria College and facilitate learning and research activities among students, faculty and staff. The library staff seeks to fulfill this mission and make holdings and facilities user-friendly by providing attractive, accessible reading and stack areas, providing competent assistance to students and faculty, offering instructional services on the use of the library, and organizing and maintaining a collection that supports Maria’s programs...”. 

Our collection includes both print and non print books and  journals, as well as numerous electronic resources and databases.   We also provide access to eBooks.

Library Policies

Borrowing Books

Students and faculty need their Maria College ID cards to check out library materials.  Books may be checked out for 1 month.  Items are renewable by phone, if there is no reserve.  There may be restrictions on ILL books.  No overdue charges occur on library books. 

Reserves

Reserves are held behind the reference desk.  Please speak with the librarian if you wish to see a reserve.  Reserves cannot leave the library.

Patron Belongings

Maria College Library is not responsible for students belonging left unattended.  Please make sure you watch your own belongings.

Quiet Study Space

A quiet study space is available in the back room of the library, past the stacks.  Please let library staff know if this space becomes noisy. 

Collection Development

The goal of Maria College Library is to develop and maintain a collection that supports and enhances the curriculum and instruction programs of the College and the needs of students, faculty, and staff.  Library resources should include a variety of general information resources in subject areas not covered by classroom instruction, but generally supportive of a learning environment.  For those members of the College whose scholarly or research needs are beyond the scope of the Library collection, the librarian will help to identify, locate, and borrow such materials through interlibrary loan. 

With the use of available funds, the Library will acquire and make available materials, evaluate existing collections, and develop policies and procedures to maintain the quality of collections and information services.  The Library is involved in a variety of resource sharing that expands range of accessible materials.

Guidelines for Selection of Materials

The following guidelines are used to assist library staff in selecting quality materials for inclusion in the Library collection:

  • Relevance to curriculum-based needs of students.
  • Relevance to instructional needs of the faculty.
  • Probable need based on existing programs and collections.
  • Intellectual content and scholarly worth.

As noted above, the primary goal of the library’s collection is to enhance the program of instruction.  Textbooks adopted for class use will not normally be purchased for the collection.  Occasionally instructors will place textbooks on reserve in the library for students to use.  The library will not purchase consumable materials such as workbooks or tests. 

Gifts

The Library welcomes gifts of materials that are consistent with the collection development policy provided there are no restrictions attached as to their disposition.  Gifts are accepted with the understanding that materials not added to the collection will be disposed of in ways that are advantageous to the Library. 

Weeding

Weeding, or the removal of materials to be discarded, is an important part of the total collection development process.  Building a viable collection of materials to serve the College community is a process that includes assessment and the removal of materials that are obsolete, damaged beyond repair, or no longer relevant to the curriculum.  The Library and its staff are primarily responsible for weeding the collection.  In recent years, we have had the help of various departments in advising us of weeding materials. The weeding process is administered yearly.

Guidelines for Weeding the Collection

    The following categories of materials will be considered for weeding from the collection:

  • Outdated materials
  • Superseded editions
  • Excessively worn or damaged materials.  Items in poor condition, but still valuable in terms of content will be considered for repair or replacement.
  • Instructional materials or previous editions of more recent texts.

 Staff


Marisa Gitto - Director of Library Services
Krista Robben - Reference Librarian
        Daniela Boraas - Reference Librarian (evenings and weekends)
Mary Guadron - Substitute Librarian
Laura Dalton - Library Aide