Skip to main content


Library: English/Literature

 Reference Materials


Please consult the OPALS catalog or ask a librarian for help locating these items.  Collection includes, but is not limited  to, the following:

  • The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation
  • Cyclopedia of World Authors
  • Dictionary of Literary Terms
  • Dictionary of Shakespeare
  • The Oxford Dictionary of Quotations
  • The Top 500 Poems
  • Webster's New Dictionary of Synonyms
  • Webster's Dictionary
  • A Writer's Reference

Books related to Literature can be found in the online catalog, OPALS, by title, author, or subject/keyword.  If you would like to browse by section, they can generally be found in the following areas on the shelves:

  • 400 Language
  • 410 Linguistics
  • 420 English & Old English languages
  • 800 Literature & rhetoric
  • 803 Dictionaries & encyclopedias
  • 810 American literature in English
  • 811 American poetry in English
  • 812 American drama in English
  • 813 American fiction in English
  • 814 American essays in English
  • 815 American speeches in English
  • 816 American letters in English
  • 817 American humor & satire in English
  • 820 English & Old English literatures
  • 830 Literatures of Germanic languages
  • 840 Literatures of Romance languages
  • 870 Italic literatures; Latin literature
  • 880 Hellenic literatures; classical Greek
  • 890 Literatures of other languages
  • 895 Literatures of East & Southeast Asia
  • 896 African literatures
  • 897 North American native literatures
  • 898 South American native literatures
  • 899 Austronesian & other literatures

 Subscription Resources


CREDO Reference

  • A complete reference collection with access to full text of best reference books including images, sounds, pronunciation guidelines, concept maps, and more.

EBSCOhost  

Taylor and Francis

  • Abstract access is provided.  If you would like the full article, please click here to request the material.

Writing Resources


The following writing books are in the library: