Skip to main content


Library: Occupational Therapy

 Reference Materials


The online catalog, OPALS, is located on the library’s homepage.  Books can be found by searching title, author, or subject.  The books are located in the stacks arranged by the Dewey Decimal System:

  • 155 – Psychology/ Development
  • 362 – Mental Health/Disabilities
  • 611-612 – Anatomy/ Physiology/ Kinesiology
  • 615.8 – OT/Rehabilitation
  • 616.8 – Neurology/Disabilities
  • 616.89 – OT & Mental Health
  • 617 – Assistive Technology
  • 617.5 – Orthopedics

The following Reference Books are available:

  • REF 362 Complete Mental Health Directory (2006/07)
  • REF 362.4 Complete Directory for People with Disabilities (2007)
  • REF 371.90 Complete Learning Disabilities Directory (2008)
  • REF 615.82 several books on Exercise & Activities
  • REF 617.5 Hand Rehabilitation

 Subscription Resources


EBSCOhost: Use this database to search for articles.

Then, check the box next to one or more databases and click continue. The following databases may be helpful:

Academic Search Complete: multi-disciplinary database with more than 8,000 full-text periodicals

CINAHL: Plus with Full Text: source for full text nursing and allied health journals with full text for more than 640 journals

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition: nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines
Medline: authoritative medical information from the National Library of Medicine on medicine, nursing, dentistry, the health care system, and much more.

eBook Collection View the eBooks online or download an eBook for up to 7 days of offline reading.  Simply create an account for “My EBSCOhost”, sign in, and choose an eBook to download.  New eBooks will be added periodically.

Nursing Reference Center: conditions and diseases, patient education, labs and diagnostics, drug and reference information, e-books including Davis’s Drug Guide for Nurses, Taber’s Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary, Nursing Diagnosis Manual, and evidence-based care sheets.

SALEM Health: online access to Salem Press’ reference set, Magill’s Medical Guide. Up-to-date and easy-to-use, it offers information for student research as well as use by general readers, including patients and caregivers. It covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and current issues. It also includes recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders.

Gale Databases: Health Reference Center, Nursing and Allied Health CollectionPhysical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection.                  

A to Z Electronic Journals Database:

  • Click on “Subjects”. 
  • Select “Occupational Therapy” for more electronic journals.

 Internet Resources


There are large numbers of health-related websites on the Internet, but it can be difficult to tell what is reliable.

We hope this list will lead you to free, helpful and accurate health information – both for your studies here and for personal use.

We have also included some of the print and database resources available through the library.

American Occupational Therapy Foundation

Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and Exchange (CIRRIE)

International Center for Disability Resources on the Internet

National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC)

OT Critically Appraised Topics (CATs)

OT Seeker

Rehabilitation Engineering and Assistive Technology Society of North America