Skip to main content


Library: Psychology

 Reference Materials


Please consult the OPALS catalog or ask a  librarian for help locating these items.  Collection includes, but is not limited to, the following:

  • REF 150.3 WOL Dictionary of behavioral science
  • REF 155.4 H24 1997 V.1 Handbook of child psychology
  • REF 150.3 C67 2001 V.1 The Corsini encyclopedia of psychology and behavioral science
  • REF 150.3 M33 2003 V.1 Magill's encyclopedia of social science: psychology
  • REF 150.3 S25 2010 V.1 Salem health: psychology & mental health

Books for the Psychology program can be found in the online catalog, OPALS, by title, author, or subject/keyword.  If you would like to browse by section, they can generally be found in the following areas on the shelves:

  • 150 Psychology
  • 152 Sensory perception, movement, emotions, & physiological drives
  • 153 Conscious mental processes & intelligence
  • 154 Subconscious & altered states & processes
  • 155 Differential & developmental psychology
  • 156 Comparative psychology
  • 158 Applied psychology
  • 304 Factors affecting social behavior
  • 360 Social problems & services; associations
  • 361 Social problems & services
  • 362 Social problems of & services to groups of people
  • 363 Other social problems & services
  • 615 Pharmacology and therapeutics

 Subscription Resources


CREDO Reference

  • A complete reference collection with access to full text of best reference books including images, sounds, pronunciation guidelines, concept maps, & more.

EBSCOhost  

  • The following are helpful psychology sources: Academic Search Complete, Eric, MEDLINE, PsycARTICLES
  • eBook Collection – View the eBooks online or download an eBook for up to 7 days of offline reading. Simply create an account for “My EBSCOhost”, sign in, and choose an eBook to download. New eBooks will be added periodically.

Gale Psychology Collection

  • Psychology Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. The database offers content of interest to both researchers and general users.

SALEM Health - online access to Salem Press’ reference set, Magill’s Medical Guide.

Taylor and Francis - Abstract access is provided.  If you would like the full article, please click here to request the material.

*Please note that you need to be on campus to use these resources*