Skip to main content


Library: Science

 Internet Resources


The National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.

PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules.

  • PubChem includes substance information, compound structures, and BioActivity data in three primary databases, Pcsubstance, Pccompound, and PCBioAssay, respectively.

Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.

Library of Congress Science Reference Services is the principal location for research in the areas of science, technology, technical reports, and standards.

The Science360 Video Library immerses visitors in the latest wonders of science, engineering, technology and math through videos.

 Reference Materials


 Credo eBook Reference Collection

  • A complete reference collection with access to full text of reference books

  Some reference titles that can be found in the library:

REF 503.21 OXF Concise science dictionary

REF 530.03 OXF Concise dictionary of physics

REF 509 S29 2006 Science and scientists

REF 550.3 DUR Dictionary of the environmental sciences

 Books on Science can be found in the online catalog OPALS by title, author, or subject/keyword.  

 If you would like to browse by section, books on Science are generally found in the 500s on the shelves, in both the stacks and the reference section.  Here are some sections that pertain to chemistry and biology:

  • 540 Chemistry & allied sciences
  • 541 Physical chemistry
  • 542 Techniques, procedures, apparatus, equipment, materials
  • 543 Analytical chemistry
  • 546 Inorganic chemistry
  • 547 Organic chemistry
  • 548 Crystallography
  • 549 Mineralogy
  • 570 Biology
  • 571 Physiology & related subjects
  • 572 Biochemistry
  • 573 Specific physiological systems in animals, regional histology & physiology in animals
  • 575 Specific parts of & physiological systems in plants
  • 576 Genetics and evolution
  • 577 Ecology
  • 578 Natural history of organisms & related subjects
  • 579 Natural history of microorganisms, fungi, algae