Skip to main content


Library: Nursing

Photo by Saw Pre Pre Twang of skull

 Reference Materials


Please consult the OPALS catalog or ask a librarian for help locating these items. Collection includes, but is not limited to, the following:

  • Complementary and Alternative Medicine
  • Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment
  • Diseases and Disorders: A Nursing Therapeutics Manual
  • Magill’s Medical Guide

Books for the Nursing program can be found in the online catalog, OPALS, by title, author, or subject/keyword.  If you would like to browse by section, they can generally be found in the following areas on the shelves:

  • 610 – Medical/Nursing
  • 611-612 – Anatomy & Physiology
  • 618.92 – Pediatrics

 Subscription Resources


CREDO Reference

  • A complete reference collection with access to full text of best reference books including images, sounds, pronunciation guidelines, concept maps, and more.

EBSCOhost  

Nursing Reference Center - conditions and diseases, patient education, labs and diagnostics, drug and reference information, e-books including Davis’s Drug Guide for Nurses, Taber’s Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary, Nursing Diagnosis Manual, and evidence-based care sheets.

SALEM Health - online access to Salem Press’ reference set, Magill’s Medical Guide.

 

  Internet Resources


There are large numbers of health-related websites on the Internet, but it can be difficult to tell what is reliable.

We hope this list will lead you to free, helpful and accurate health information – both for your studies here and for personal use.

We have also included some of the print and database resources available through the library.

 

GOVERNMENT HEALTH RESOURCES

Pubmed - articles, non-governmental resources, and full-text of some books

Pubmed Central – free archive of biomedical and life sciences journals

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention - public health, images, statistics

http://www.cdc.gov/spanish (Spanish)

https://www.cdc.gov/DataStatistics/ - data and statistics by topic terms

https://data.cdc.gov/  - central database for data relating to CDC

https://www.cdc.gov/surveillancepractice/ - information about the collection, analysis, and use of data to target public health prevention

https://www.cdc.gov/publichealthgateway/data-research/ - gateway to all things related to public health statistics

https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/ - National Center for Health Statistics is the nation’s principal health statistics agency, providing data to identify and address health issues

Clinical Trials

Drug Information Portal

Healthfinder - directory of health-related websites (government, non-profit, and educational)

http://www.healthfinder.gov  (English)

http://www.healthfinder.gov/espanol/  (Spanish)

Healthy People 2020 - interactive data tool allows users to explore data and technical information

Medline Plus  - accurate, student-friendly pictures, tutorials, medical encyclopedia

http://medlineplus.gov  (English)

http://medlineplus.gov/spanish  (Spanish)

National Institute of Health – consumer health information.  

National Guideline Clearinghouse – a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.

National Institute of Nursing Research

New York State Department of Health

Data Sources - includes individual county/town statistics relating to public health

Community Health Assessment Clearinghouse - The Community Health Assessment Clearinghouse is a resource for community health planners, practitioners, and policy developers.

New York State Health Assessment 2018 - The Department of Health has completed its state health assessment and used the information to develop the updated Prevention Agenda for 2019-2024.

New York State Community Health Indicator Reports (CHIRS) The New York State Community Health Indicator Reports (CHIRS) were developed in 2012, and are annually updated to consolidate and provide information regarding health indicators in the County Health Assessment Indicators (CHAI) for all communities in New York.

NON-GOVERNMENT RESOURCES

Mayo Clinic – reliable health information

Nursing Theory Page - information about nursing theorists and their models