Copyright is a form of protection provided by the laws of the United States (Title 17, U.S. Code) to the creators of "original works of authorship." It is a bundle of exclusive legal rights for authors and creators that protect the substance and form of their work for a defined period of time.
|
Teachers and students have certain rights to publicly display and perform copyrighted works in the classroom.
|
Fair use is a legal tenet that permits unlicensed use of copyright-protected works in certain circumstances. The use of copyrighted materials in not infringement if it follows the four factors of fair use identified in Section 107 of the Copyright Act. The fair use of a copyrighted work, including by reproduction in copies or phonorecords for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching (including multiple copies for classroom use), scholarship, or research, is not an infringement of copyright.
The public domain consists of works that are not protected by copyright - because the copyright expired, they were never protected by copyright law or the owner didn't comply with the existing copyright formalities at the time of publication.
Unlike copyrighted works, those in the public domain can be used, shared, remixed, copied, and distributed all completely free and without permission from the original creator.
Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization that is devoted to educational access and expanding the range of digital creative works. It offers licenses to people so their work may be shared, repurposed, remixed and legal used by any member of the public under specific conditions. Through CC licensed, millions of people around the world have made their music, videos, photos, and other creative content available for sharing and reuse.
The Creative Commons form licenses are particularly useful for people who want to share their work as broadly as possible on the Internet. Rights granted are broad and are intended to facilitate sharing as well as mashups and derivative works. No registration is necessary to use the Creative Commons licenses. Instead, content creators select which of the organization's six licenses best meets their goals, then tag their work so that others know under which terms and conditions the work is released. (Source: Creative Commons Licenses)
 |
Attribution - BY |
|
|
Attribution-No Derivatives - BY |
|
|
Attribution-Non-Commercial - BY |
|
|
Attribution-Share Alike - BY |
|
|
Attribution-Non-Commercial-Share Alike - BY |
|
|
Attribution-Non-Commercial-No Derivatives - BY |
(Source: Creative Commons licenses)
Coaching Copyright by
From researching to remixing, library users need your guidance on a wide range of copyright topics. The way to move beyond "yes, you can" or "no, you can't" is to become a copyright coach. In this collection librarian and attorney Smith teams up with information literacy expert Ellis to offer a framework for coaching copyright, empowering users to take a practical approach to specific situations. Complete with in-depth case studies, this collection provides valuable information rooted in pragmatic techniques, including in-depth discussion of the five questions that will help you clarify any copyright situation; storytelling techniques to enliven copyright presentations, plus ways to use music or YouTube to hook students into copyright topics; three coaching scenarios that tie into ACRL's Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education and bring real-world applications to your library instruction; how-to guidance on leading mock negotiations over real journal publishing agreements; a 90-minute lesson plan on author rights for writers in a student journal; tips for teaching instructional designers how to apply copyright and fair use principles to course management systems; and an LIS copyright course assessment model. This resource will help you become a copyright coach by showing you how to discern the most important issues in a situation, determine which questions you need to ask, and give a response that is targeted to the specific need.
Copyright by
A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.
Copyright Clarity by
"This book cuts to the heart of uncertainties about how copyright and fair use apply in the classroom, addressing common misperceptions and laying out the current understandings of intellectual property law in clear engaging prose."-Henry Jenkins, Provost's Professor of Communication, Journalism, and Cinematic ArtUniversity of Southern California"This long-awaited book relieves educators' anxieties about the legality of using copyrighted materials during instruction and presentations. In addition to answering questions about fair use practice in an easy-to-understand manner, Hobbs offers examples of how technology supports essential literacy and communication skills in 21st-century classrooms."-Diane Lapp, Distinguished Professor of EducationSan Diego State UniversityFinally, a book that dispels confusion around the use of copyrighted materials in the classroom!Today, educators and students have access to a vast, rich array of online materials that can be used for instruction, but these resources often remain untapped because of confusion over copyright laws. In this slim, jargon-free guide, media literacy expert Renee Hobbs presents simple principles for applying copyright law and the doctrine of fair use to 21st-century teaching and learning. Complete with a ready-to-go staff development workshop, this book explores:What is permissible in the classroomFair use of digital materials such as images, music, movies, and Internet elements found on sites such as Google and YouTube Trends in intellectual property law and copyright practicesClassroom projects using copyrighted materialsCopyright Clarity helps educators unlock Internet and digital media resources to classrooms while respecting the rights of copyright holders. For supporting videos, slide presentations, and curriculum materials, see also www.mediaeducationlab.com/copyright.
Copyright for Schools: a Practical Guide, 6th Edition by
This updated edition of Copyright for Schools explains U.S. copyright law as it applies to education settings clearly and concisely for teachers and school librarians. Topics new to this edition include copyright implications related to the use of such streaming services as Netflix(tm) and Pandora(tm), links to online tools that teachers can use to assist them in making their own daily decisions regarding the use of copyrighted materials, and implications relating to the use of anonymous internet publishing tools such as Snapchat(tm) and use of Cloud-based sharing. Other new topics include issues related to disability, how to appropriately respond to cease and desist letters and other legal inquiries, implications of the Music Modernization Act, and expanded discussion of open resources such as Creative Commons licenses. This edition also adds a concordance in a "Scope and Sequence" table format, so all information related to U.S. copyright knowledge is accessible no matter where it resides within the text, and provides links to online tools and resources that can be used to guide users of copyrighted materials in making decisions about how to use them. Still included are the real-world applications and the Q&A sidebars from prior editions.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) A collection of text, images, audio recordings, and moving images from a variety of American libraries, museums, and archives.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) Find open access journals & articles.
JSTOR Open and free content on JSTOR and Artstor of journals, books, images & media, research reports and collections
Openverse Browse through over 600 million items to reuse. All Openverse content is under a Creative Commons license or is in the public domain
Be sure to read the rights information before using the photographs on each website.
Agricultural Research Service - U.S. Department of Agriculture Photos in our Image Gallery are available free of charge and are copyright-free, public domain, images unless otherwise indicated.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) The DPLA serves as a portal to the openly available, digitized contents of America’s libraries, archives, and museums. It indexes materials in all formats.
Franklin D. Roosevelt Museum and Library All are public domain photographs unless otherwise noted in the caption.
Gateway to Astronaut Photography of Earth You are welcome to use our photos or videos, for which NASA does not maintain a copyright.
Library of Congress - Free to Use and Reuse Sets This portal features content that is free to use and reuse.
Library of Congress - The Prints & Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) The PPOC contains catalog records and digital images.
NASA Image and Video Gallery NASA's image library consolidates imagery and videos in one searchable locations. Users can download content in multiple sizes and resolutions and see the metadata associated with images, including EXIF/camera data on many images.
NASA Visible Earth The National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) catalog of images and animations of our home planet.
National Archives Catalog The Archival Research Catalog (ARC), the online catalog of NARA’s nationwide holdings. There are over 57,000 photos available.
National Archives Online Exhibits These images highlight specific historical and cultural time periods or events.
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) The NOAA Photo Library contains over 80,000 images that showcase the work of NOAA.
Naval History and Heritage Command The Naval History and Heritage Command’s photo collections are related to the US Navy (or other navies when specifically associated with US involvement or historical events) with specific emphasis on ships, aviation, places, wars/events, activities, and significant individuals associated with naval history.
NYPL Digital Collections The New York Public Library Digital Collections website has over 180,000 digital images that everyone may exercise the freedom to enjoy and reuse them in limitless ways.
Pixabay All contents are released under the Pixabay License, which makes them safe to use without asking for permission.
United States Arctic Program Hundreds of photos that include wildlife and scenery. Images are free to the public and reproduction/distribution available for download. Credit to the photographer is requested.
USFWS National Digital Library The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service’s National Digital Library is a searchable collection of selected images, historical artifacts, audio clips, publications, and video, most of which are in the public domain.
Wikimedia Commons A collection of 86,089,579 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.
Be sure to read the rights information on each website before using any video content.
60 Minutes - Full Episodes A collection of full episodes of CBS news program 60 Minutes.
American Rhetoric A collection of historic speeches presented in video, audio, and text.
Archive of American Television Interviews with actors, directors, editors, and others who are in the television industry.
BBC Online Archive Themed collections from the BBC Archives of radio and TV programs, documents and photographs.
Civil Rights Digital Library Access to films, audio recordings, images, and texts related to the Civil Rights Movement in the United States in the 1950's and 1960's.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) A collection of text, images, audio recordings, and moving images from a variety of American libraries, museums, and archives.
Great Performances Classical music, opera, popular song, musical theater, dance, drama, and performance documentaries.
Internet Archive This library contains over a million digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
Library of Congress Digital Collection Provides free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
PBS- American Experience Full length episodes of the PBS series American Experience.
PBS- Art:21 Almost 1000 hours of original documentary footage chronicling contemporary art and artists.
PBS- Frontline Online access to select Frontline episodes from 1983- present covering a variety of subjects.
PBS- Learning Media Instant access to tens of thousands of classroom-ready, digital resources including videos, audio, photos, and even in-depth lesson plans.
PBS- Main Full length programs from the Public Broadcasting System.
PBS- NOVA Selected programs covering topics from ancient worlds to evolution to physics and math.
PBS-POV A collection of full-length and short films from the POV series.
TED Talks A collection of short presentations and speeches presented by a wide variety of acclaimed individuals at the annual TED conference.
USDA YouTube Channel Videos produced by the USDA about a variety of topics including current events, food safety, and nutrition.
YouTube Movies Full length feature films and documentaries available to stream for free or pay-per-view.
(Source: These, and many other, free video resource links are available at the University of South Carolina, University Libraries website.)
Be sure to read the rights information on each website before using any audio content.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) The DPLA serves as a portal to the openly available, digitized contents of America’s libraries, archives, and museums. It indexes materials in all formats.
Europeana Digital archive of over two million images, texts, sounds, and videos from libraries, museums, and archives across Europe.
Gutenberg Audio Books Project Gutenberg is an online library of free eBooks.
Internet Archive's Audio Archive Contains over two hundred thousand free digital recordings.
Library of Congress American Memory Provides free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
LibriVox Audiobooks are free for anyone to listen to, on their computers, iPods or other mobile device, or to burn onto a CD.
Musopen MP3 recordings of public domain music.
Project Gutenberg Audio Books Human-read audio books in a number of languages.
Wikipedia:Sound/list Public domain / Creative Commons recordings of music in the public domain, primarily classical music.
(Sources: You may find these, and more, audio recording resources available on the University of Rhode Island, University Libraries website and the Public Domain Sherpa website.)
Copyright Registrations Public Catalog
This guide is to inform you about copyright law and the issues pertaining to the use of copyrighted materials.
Information contained on this website is educational in nature and should not to be construed as legal advice.
– Credit must be given to the creator
– No derivatives or adaptations of the work are permitted
– Only noncommercial uses of the work are permitted
– Adaptations must be shared under the same terms
