Library Homepage

Promotes an awareness of the dimensions and complexities involved in caring for people from diverse cultural backgrounds. Includes information about health and illness in American Indian and Native Populations, Asian Populations, Black Populations, Hispanic Populations, and White Population.

Centering on Giger's unique transcultural model of clear, easy-to-apply assessment and intervention strategies for the clinical setting, this one-of-a-kind resource will help you learn to identify the six key cultural phenomena used in caring for clients from different backgrounds (communication, space, social organization, time, environmental control, and biological variations), and show you how to apply these phenomena to a variety of individuals in different cultures.
Includes information on the following populations: African Americans, Mexican Americans, Navajos, Appalachians, American Eskimos, Japanese Americans, Afghans and Afghan Americans, Russian Americans, Chinese Americans, Filipino Americans, Vietnamese Americans, East Indian HIndu Americans, Haitian Americans, Jewish Americans, Korean Americans, French Canadians, Puerto Rican Americans, Nigerian Americans, Ugandan Americans, Jordanian Americans, Cuban Americans, Amish Americans, and Irish Americans.

Prepare yourself for the culturally rich and ethically diverse world in which you will practice. Noted researchers, educators, and clinicians from a wealth of backgrounds use the Purnell twelve-step model to examine 33 population groups from a health care perspective. Each brings a personal understanding of the traditions and customs of their societies, providing a unique perspective on the implications for patient care.

The New York State Directory, published annually since 1983, is a comprehensive and easy-to-use guide to accessing public officials and private sector organizations and individuals who influence public policy in the state of New York.

Profiles of New York goes beyond Census statistics, beyond metro area coverage, beyond the 100 best places to live. Drawn from official census information, other government statistics and original research, you will have at your fingertips data that's available nowhere else in one single source. A remarkable compilation that offers overviews and insights into each corner of the state.

Community & Public Health Nursing is designed to provide students a basic grounding in public health nursing principles while emphasizing aggregate-level nursing. While weaving in meaningful examples from practice throughout the text, the authors coach students on how to navigate between conceptualizing about a population-focus while also continuing to advocate and care for individuals, families, and aggregates. This student-friendly, highly illustrated text engages students, and by doing so, eases students into readily applying public health principles along with evidence-based practice, nursing science, and skills that promote health, prevent disease, as well as protect at-risk populations! What the 8th edition of this text does best is assist students in broadening the base of their knowledge and skills that they can employ in both the community and acute care settings, while the newly enhanced ancillary resources offers interactive tools that allow students of all learning styles to master public health nursing.

Harkness,  a 2011 AJN Book of the Year Award recipant integrates the principles of epidemiology and basic biostatistics with core principles of community health nursing and public health nursing. This focus will provide both the methods and the knowledge necessary to gather, analyze, and evaluate data as evidence for community health practice decisions. Focusing on the individual, only in the context of the community setting, Harkness also emphasizes the global community, reflecting increasingly global healthcare concerns. Cultivating critical thinking skills through case studies and examples focusing on regional national and international community settings, Harkness is an applied core text for students in Baccalaureate programs who are preparing to be generalists in community health and public health nursing (CHN & PHN).

Public Health Nursing: Practicing Population-Based Care, Third Edition is a comprehensive resource for students and faculty interested in public health nursing and education. The text takes a historical perspective in covering the challenges of public health nursing and offers evidence for why things are done the way they are. The authors accomplish this by providing a world view of various types of clinical experiences and by encouraging a conversation around how to invite the population to be active and engaged in the initiatives which promote public health. The Third Edition covers the role of nursing in primary health care, the history of public health nursing, the science of population-based care inclusive of epidemiology and social epidemiology, evidence-based practice for population health. In addition, coverage of technology for research, data storage, retrieval, trend identification, as well as technological innovations for educational program delivery to a population and social networking are also featured. Key Features: New chapter on the ethics of population-based care New chapter on the environment Minnesota Department of Health population-based intervention wheel Expanded content on disaster preparedness featuring case studies on Hurricane Katrina and the disaster in Haiti Additional information on the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act

Covering the nurse's role in promoting community health, Community/Public Health Nursing, 6th Edition provides a unique 'upstream' preventive focus and a strong social justice approach in a concise, easy-to-read text. It shows how you, as a nurse, can take an active role in social action and health policy - especially in caring for diverse and vulnerable population groups. Written by community health nursing experts Mary A. Nies and Melanie McEwen, this book offers clinical examples and photo novellas showing how concepts apply to the real world, and describes the issues and responsibilities of today's community and public health nursing. UNIQUE! 'Upstream' preventive focus addresses factors that are the precursors to poor health in the community, addressing potential health problems before they occur. UNIQUE! Emphasis on community aspects in all steps of the nursing process highlights the community perspective in all health situations.  UNIQUE! A 'social justice' approach promotes health for all people, including vulnerable populations. UNIQUE! Photo novellas use photographs to tell stories showing real-life clinical scenarios and applications of important community health nursing roles. Research Highlights boxes show the application of research studies to the practice of community nursing. Clinical examples offer snippets of real-life client situations.  Case Study: Application of the Nursing Process feature presents practical and manageable examples for the theory, concepts, and application of the nursing process. Ethical Insights boxes highlight ethical issues and concerns that the community/public health nurse may encounter. Objectives, key terms, and chapter outlines at the beginning of every chapter introduce important concepts and terminology. NEW and UNIQUE! Veterans' Health boxes present situations and considerations related to the care of veterans. UPDATED Economics of Health Care chapter addresses the latest changes related to health care reform. UPDATED Healthy People 2020 boxes include the most current national health care objectives. UPDATED Communicable Disease chapter covers current public health surveillance and outbreaks of emerging health threats, including emerging infections (e.g., H1N1, SARS, West Nile virus).

Health care in the U.S. is in the throes of shifting its emphasis from an illness care system to one focused on health promotion and disease prevention. The convergence of multiple economic, political, and social factors including Healthy People 2020, the Obama Administration's National Prevention Strategy, and the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA) provide a "road map" for improving the health of the public. Public health nurses should be in the forefront of health care to lead change in all sectors from public to private and local to global. This revised edition of Public Health Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice looks to the future of public health nursing and provides essential guidance in the form of standards and competencies for generalist and the advanced public health nurse. This is a must-have title for public health nursing practitioners, educators, students, researchers and others directly involved in public health. Employers, insurers, lawyers, regulators, policy makers and stakeholders will find value in referencing this publication.

Outstanding Academic Title, Choice magazine The health care system in the United States has been called the best in the world. Yet wide health disparities persist between different social groups, and many Americans suffer from poorer health than people in other developed countries. Donald A. Barr's Health Disparities in the United States explores how socioeconomic status, race, and ethnicity interact with socioeconomic inequality to create and perpetuate these health disparities. Examining the significance of this gulf for the medical community, cultural subsets, and society at large, Barr offers potential policy- and physician-based solutions for reducing health inequity in the long term. This popular course book, which has been fully updated, now incorporates significant new material, including a chapter on the profound effects of inequality on child development, behavioral choices, and adult health status. An essential text for courses in public health, health policy, and sociology, the second edition analyzes the complex web of social forces that influence health outcomes in the United States. This book is a vital teaching tool and a comprehensive reference for social science and medical professionals.

Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools. Nurse as Educator: Principles of Teaching and Learning for Nursing Practice, Fifth Edition prepares nurse educators, clinical nurse specialists, and nurse practitioners and students for their ever-increasing role in patient teaching, health education, and health promotion. One of the most outstanding and unique features of this text is that it focuses on multiple audiences therefore making it applicable to both undergraduate and graduate nursing courses. The Fifth Edition features coverage of relevant topics in nursing education and health promotion such as health literacy, teaching people with disabilities, the impact of gender and socioeconomics on learning, technology for teaching and learning, and the ethical, legal, and economic foundations of the educational process. New to the Fifth Edition: Certified Nurse Educator Mapping Expanded content on the importance of interprofessional education Navigate 2 Advantage Access New examples of how to apply theory to practice Updated references Revised tables and figures Instructor Resources Test Bank Slides in PowerPoint format Learning activities Case studies Syllabus Discussion questions mapping to CNE certification requirements