This digital collection contains a selection of archival materials depicting Maria’s early days, including the groundbreaking ceremony and blessing of the College, as well as historical photographs of faculty, students, board members, presidents, and local religious community leaders and politicians.
Maureen Paula O'Sullivan (17 May 1911 – 23 June 1998) was an Irish-American actress. She was married to the director John Farrow and had seven children with him (one of whom was actress Mia Farrow). After being widowed for twenty years, O’Sullivan was married to her second husband, James Cushing, a Niskayuna, NY businessman, from August 22, 1983 until her death in 1998. Mr. Cushing was a member of the board of trustees for Maria College, Albany, NY. This collection represents personal correspondence written by O’Sullivan to Sister Laureen Fitzgerald, former President of Maria College, as well as the wedding announcement and photographs of O’Sullivan and Cushing related to Maria College events.
The Maria College Glee Club of the 1960s and 1970s was led by Director/Conductor, J. Robert Sheehan, and included the Religious Sisters of Mercy and students of the College. The glee club presented programs during the Christmas season and for the Spring Festivals. The Glee Club Collection contains songs from two glee club record albums digitized to mp3s, a photograph of the glee club and a Spring Festival program. In addition, there is a Christmas album sung by the Priests’ Choir of the Diocese of Albany, Religious Sisters of Mercy of the Albany Diocese and the Sisters of St. Joseph of Carondelet.
The Mariale, the spring literary magazine of Maria College, prevailed from 1961-1976 (missing year 1965). There are 446 creative works (titles) within the literary magazines. Illustrations and photographs by students are also included. Some issues of “The Mariale” have themes. The 1966 issue is based upon peace as a theme due to the Vietnam War. In the 1975 issue, the Bicentennial of the United States of America is celebrated, and the students of Maria College commemorate the following: the spirit of being a citizen of the United States, colonialism, honoring George Washington, Henry Hudson, Quilting, and American Couture. Patrons will be able to read the spirited works of the Religious Sisters of Mercy and the students of the College, understand the historical and literary value of the College and the time period.
The Promarian Newsletter prevailed from 1960 until 1966. The newsletter details the happenings of Maria College campus from course curriculum, the ideas of the Pope which is headlined as “The Pope Speaks…”, poetry, the study of languages and literature, biology laboratories, and discussions regarding the library, music, and glee clubs. Some of the Religious Sisters of Mercy (RSM) faculty give suggestions and ideas of how to teach the lower and upper grades of primary school to future teachers, called, “Our Corner.” The RSM give helpful hints on how to maintain a classroom setting with all learners and creative crafts for children. Some of the passages provide insightful information regarding the Sister Formation, information on the founder of the RSM, Catherine McAuley, and understanding the Roman Catholic Church. Photographs of the RSM and future sisters in their habits are important to the time period, especially in the early sixties. The mid-sixties photographs show the transition of when lay students were allowed to attend the college.
Maria College celebrated its 60th anniversary on April 25, 2018. In honor of the 60th Anniversary of Maria College, the anniversaries collection comprises of invitations, programs, Maria College Reporter articles, proclamations, speeches, letters, and advertisements with celebratory congratulations from dignitaries and companies of the 25th, 50th and 60th anniversaries. The Proclamations signed by Albany Mayor Kathy Sheehan, New York State Governor David Paterson, and Assemblyman Neil Breslin and more share the history of milestones of the college including the charter date of the college on April 25, 1958 and curricular programs of Maria College.
Maria College Occupational Therapy Department Assistive Device Collection.
The Occupational Therapy Assistive Devices Collection is from the Occupational Therapy Assistant program, and housed at Maria College's McAuley Building in the OT Library.
Maria College Reflections Yearbook Collection
The Maria College “Reflections” Yearbook Collection prevailed from 1967-1976 and 1980. The Yearbooks contain photographs of of Maria College clubs, student senate, and student activities. Local government officials and religious leaders such as Mayor Erastus Corning II and Bishop Scully, and advertisements from local vendors are also included in the photographs. Some of the yearbooks contain poetry or sayings as a “Reflection” of the students’ memories made at Maria College. For example, in the 1980 issue of the yearbook, it details the adoption of the Maria College Logo, and its history and representation. In this issue, there are illustrations of the activities of Maria College such as: the Maria Olympics, raffles, holidays, the gift of life, and ale.
Maria College Nursing 50th Anniversary Collection
Celebrating 50 years of nursing education at Maria College, this collection features photographs and documents that tell the program's story from 1968 to 2020. This includes White Tea Ceremony photographs, invitations, and programs for events hosted by the college nursing program, and photographs of students, faculty, and facilities that have played important roles in the growth of the nursing program.
