Theoretical Nursing by
Inspire your students to be theoretical thinkers, innovative advocates, and agents for change. Focused on cultivating the next generation of scholars, this highly respected classic demystifies theory, charts strategies to use in developing and advancing theory, and provides tools and best practices in evaluating progress in the discipline. Based on the feedback of nursing students, this edition was updated to be more accessible without losing the necessary rigor to foster critical thinking. Meleis provides a developmental and historical review of theoretical nursing and helps readers develop analytic skills and integrate knowledge into a coherent whole. By embarking on the journey of nursing theory, practicing nurses will find ways to improve everyday practice, as well as develop theories that capture their expertise. Highlights of the Sixth Edition Key Topics Paradigms that influenced nursing thought, such as feminism and post-colonialism Nursing Theories, including need , interaction , and outcome theories Social and health care transitions and their influence on advancing nursing knowledge The most updated global definitions of the discipline of nursing and the future of nursing Critical discussions on how different classifications of theories may lead to productive explorations and explanations of the process of clinical judgment and decision making Key Features New online journal articles and case studies give students an opportunity to apply theory to practice. Chapter-ending Reflective Questions expand students' understanding of theory and its impact on nursing today. Separate chapters covering Middle Range Theory and Situation-Specific Theory . This text is complemented by and frequently used with Peterson & Bredow's Middle Range Theories: Application to Nursing Research and Practice . A new two-column design that enhances readability. Doody's Review Services gives this title a Weighted Numerical Score: 89 - 3 Stars! "This is the most exemplary nursing theory title available and it is particularly useful because it is a treasure trove of classic and emerging theorists and their work. The breadth, comprehensiveness, and historical grounding make this a must-have title that is a relevant reference for emerging nursing theorists and researchers, faculty, graduate students, and policy makers." - Doody's Review Service
Health Care System Transformation for Nursing and Health Care Leaders by
The authors' approach to creating a transforming culture through use of foundations laid in the theoretical development of "Nursing As Caring" offers a solid foundation upon which to recalibrate and reconfigure toward a caring organizational health system. -Tim Porter-O'Grady, DM, EdD, APRN, FAAN, FACCWS Associate Professor, Leadership Scholar, College of Nursing and Healthcare Innovation, Arizona State University Clinical Professor, Leadership Scholar, College of Nursing, The Ohio State University This is a time-tested, practical guide for nurses and other healthcare professionals who wish to transform their healthcare systems based on caring values and the promotion of intra- and inter-professional dialogue among stakeholders. It describes a theoretically grounded model created by nurses for transforming the culture of healthcare systems at all levels, and features tested strategies that facilitate accessibility, efficiency, effectiveness, and enhanced outcomes. At its most basic level, this model, the Dance of Caring Persons, expresses the fundamental beliefs and attitudes that each person in the healthcare system lives caring meaningfully in unique and valuable ways, and the contributions of each person to the whole of the enterprise have a significant place within it. The book features successful examples of how various units of the healthcare system can apply specific strategies to their inter- and intra-professional work, and how to engage and sustain authentic dialogue among and between stakeholders. Chapters feature information from a great variety of health professionals that represent a broad range of participants in healthcare. Detailed information is presented in a variety of formats ranging from formal written responses to chapter contents to transcriptions of small group conversations relating to the topic at hand. The book reflects the interests of such major stakeholders as patients and families, nurses, physicians and other primary and adjunctive care providers, ancillary service providers, administrators and managers, and all other individuals involved in the many aspects of organizational models and delivery of health care and human resource functions and outcomes. Each chapter includes questions to consider and suggested resources to help with implementation of strategies. The text incorporates professional standards and essentials from the Joint Commission, ANCC, and AACN (DNP). Key Features: Presents a theoretically grounded, proven caring-based model for healthcare system change for all stakeholders across the continuum of care Provides practical strategies for transformation in all aspects of a healthcare system applicable across the range of health services Describes how healthcare system change happens, who initiates it, and how to sustain it through caring science Includes success stories from patients and their families, nurses, physicians, ancillary service providers, healthcare administrators, and others Promotes inter- and intra-professional dialogue and collaboration
Florence Nightingale by
Readers are informed and exhilarated by the story of Florence Nightingale, a brilliant pioneer who played a major role in making nursing the respected profession it is today. This sumptuously illustrated biography of nursing’s inspiring founder focuses on Nightingale’s mystic beliefs, her contributions to public health and infection control, and her trailblazing work in government and health care reform. Readers discover Nightingale’s life as a mystic and her many health care theories and practices that are still in use today. Brimming with more than 280 beautiful photographs and hundreds of little-known facts that shed light on the events that shaped Nightingale’s life and work.
The Neuman Systems Model by
Completely updated in a new edition, this book presents a look at the application of the Neuman Systems Model in nursing education and practice, with emphasis on social change, current trends, and future nursing needs. It includes specific guidelines for providing holistic systems based perspective for optimal client system care. Through the contributions of an international contingent of authors, the text offers diverse viewpoints of global health care concerns relevant to the 21st century. This book is a perfect resource for clinicians, researchers, and administrators in all health care disciplines.
Traumatic Childbirth by
Postpartum depression has become a more recognized mental illness over the past decade as a result of education and increased awareness. Traumatic childbirth, however, is still often overlooked, resulting in a scarcity of information for health professionals. This is in spite of up to 34% of new mothers reporting experiencing a traumatic childbirth and prevalence rates rising for high risk mothers, such as those who experience stillbirth or who had very low birth weight infants. This ground-breaking book brings together an academic, a clinician and a birth trauma activist. Each chapter discusses current research, women¿s stories, the common themes in the stories and the implications of these for practice, clinical case studies and a clinician¿s insights and recommendations for care. Topics covered include: mothers¿ perspectives, fathers¿ perspectives, the impact on breastfeeding, the impact on subsequent births, PTSD after childbirth and EMDR treatment for PTSD. This book is a valuable resource for health professionals who come into contact with new mothers, providing the most current and accurate information on traumatic childbirth. It also presents mothers¿ experiences in a manner that is accessible to women, their partners, and families.
Dorothea Orem by
Encapsulating the work of a classic nursing theorist, this book provides a unique overview of Orem′s Self-Care Deficit Model of Nursing. Orem′s model proposes that nursing should be especially concerned with the patient′s need to move continuously towards responsible action in self-care in order to sustain life and health or to recover from disease or injury. The actions required of nurses to achieve these goals are clearly described.
Nursing Concepts of Practice by
-- The sixth edition of the "classic" text on the concepts of nursing practice. -- Several new chapters are included, however the basic format and information has not changed. -- The information continues to be presented in an easily understandable format with chapter outlines, key items, chapter summaries and boxed exercises.
Notes on Nursing by 
Bioethical Decision Making in Nursing by
"This book provides a systematic approach to bioethical decision making, a process that can help clarify situations where right and wrong are not clearly defined. This is] a valuable book for ethics and theory courses." More relevant today than ever, Husted's classic nursing ethics text provides a practical framework to help nurses engage with patients to make difficult ethical decisions. It delivers a systematic approach to bioethical decision making that can help clarify situations where "right" and "wrong" are not clearly defined. An abundance of case studies provides practice in bioethical decision making, with nearly 45 bioethical dilemmas analyzed in detail. The fifth edition has been reorganized and rewritten to facilitate increased readability and to engage readers more fully in learning.
Ethical Decision Making in Nursing and Healthcare by
This book provides a systematic approach to bioethical decision making that can help clarify issues in situations where "right" and "wrong" may not be clearly defined. This approach is based on the interaction of health professional and patient, focusing on the well-being and right to self-direction of both. Numerous case studies give the professional practice in bioethical decision making. Nearly 50 of them are analyzed in detail at the back of the book. Nurses, physicians, and allied health professionals will find this a valuable resource. This book provides a systematic approach to bioethical decision making that can help clarify issues in situations where "right" and "wrong" may not be clearly defined. This approach is based on the interaction of health professional and patient, focusing on the well-being and right to self-direction of both. Numerous case studies give the professional practice in bioethical decision making. Nearly 50 of them are analyzed in detail at the back of the book. Nurses, physicians, and allied health professionals will find this a valuable resource. New to this fourth edition is an expansion of the preface and first chapter to provide a more complete mindset for what is to follow; two new chapters: one on four of the traditional ethical systems and how they pertain to interaction in the health care setting, and one that expands upon the iimportant of context; expansion of the final chapter on Symphonology--now formally recognized as a nursing theory by Marriner-Tomey and Alligood in their new edition of Nursing Theory: Utilization and Application--for use by master's and doctoral students; end of chapter questions and/or dilemmas for which no analysis will be given; replacement of older case studies with more current examples; and randomly throughout, addition of content, different focuses, and rearrangement of content.
Human Caring Science by
Human Caring Science: A Theory of Nursing, Second Edition by renowned nurse theorist Jean Watson discusses the balance between science and caring that forms the basis of the nursing profession. Watson's Theory of Human Care draws from Western and Eastern philosophers, approaching the human care relationship as a moral concept. Further, it seeks to elucidate the human care process in nursing, preserve humanity and the inner life of patients, and reintroduce true caring and healing into educational and clinical practices.Thoroughly revised and updated, each chapter provides fresh insights and contemporary thinking making it accessible to undergraduates as well as graduates and practicing nurses. This Second Edition also includes a new research chapter with the latest empirical work on assessing and measuring caring, examples of practice models, and multi-site research.
Nursing by
Jean Watson's first edition of Nursing, now considered a classic, introduced the science of human caring and quickly became one of the most widely used and respected sources of conceptual models for nursing. This completely new edition offers a contemporary update and the most current perspectives on the evolution of the original philosophy and science of caring from the field's founding scholar. A core concept for nurses and the professional and non-professional people they interact with, "care" is one of the field's least understood terms, enshrouded in conflicting expectations and meanings. Although its usages vary among cultures, caring is universal and timeless at the human level, transcending societies, religions, belief systems, and geographic boundaries, moving from Self to Other to community and beyond, affecting all of life. This new edition reflects on the universal effects of caring and connects caring with love as the primordial moral basis both for the philosophy and science of caring practices and for healing itself. It introduces Caritas Processes, offers centering and mediation exercises on an included audio CD, and provides other energetic and reflective models to assist students and practitioners in cultivating a new level of Caritas Nursing in their work and world.
Assessing and Measuring Caring in Nursing and Health Sciences by
This book provides all the essential research tools for assessing and measuring caring for those in the caring professions. Watson's text is the only comprehensive and accessible collection of instruments for care measurement in clinical and educational nursing research. The measurements address quality of care, patient, client, and nurse perceptions of caring, and caring behaviors, abilities, and efficacy. Newly updated, this edition also contains three new chapters, which document the most effective caring language and provide innovative methods of selecting appropriate tools for measurement based on validity and reliability. Key features of new edition: A chapter providing a comprehensive literature review of the research and measurement of caring A chapter entitled "Caring Factor Survey," which presents a new scale based on Watson's original theory of human caring Chapters outlining instruments for care measurement, including Holistic Caring Inventory, Peer Group Caring Interaction Scale, and many more New instruments focused on assessing caring at the administrative-relational caring level An updated section dedicated to challenges and future directions of the measurement of caring
Roy Adaptation Model in Action by
This book is part of the Nursing Models in Action Series, which provides in-depth theory and practical applications of the major nursing models. Roys Model allows nurses to examine both physiological and psychosocial issues related to the patients and their care. By confronting the way that individuals react to stress, nurses using Roys Model can achieve a holistic assessment and resulting quality of care. This book will provide the reader with a clear, easily understood review of the adaptation model and its application in practice. The authors of this book are all experienced teachers, who provide invaluable information on how to overcome conceptual and practical problems in the use of the model, using examples from their clinical experiences.
Betty Neuman by
Used extensively in nursing education, Betty Neuman's systems model reflects nursing's interest in holism and in the influence of environment on health. This volume opens with a brief biography of Betty Neuman and continues with a succinct discussion of her theory that outlines its origins, assumptions, and the major concepts of the meta-paradigm of nursing. It continues with a presentation of the propositions of the conceptual model, examples for application to practice and research, classic works, critiques and research, and a glossary of important terms. Ideally suited as a supplementary text, Betty Neuman is essential reading for the undergraduate nursing student as well as the more advanced student or nurse interested in a quick review.
Caring Science, Mindful Practice, Second Edition by
This seminal work, based on the philosophy of Watson's Human Caring Theory, is designed to help students and practitioners of nursing to simplify Watson's complex teachings and integrate them into everyday practice. The revised second edition includes an abundance of new micro-practice examples for each of the 10 Caritas Processes(R); practical exemplars from Dr. Sitzman's research, enabling readers to cultivate Caritas and mindfulness on a daily basis; and new case studies demonstrating how others have implemented Human Caring Science into everyday life and work. Drawing on the contemplative and mindfulness teachings of Thich Nhat Hanh, the text offers an engaging entry into Human Caring Theory for newcomers and deepens understanding for current practitioners. Clear and simple content supports foundational learning and promotes direct experience related to Watson's work. The book features guided mindfulness activities and artistic practices for each of the 10 Caritas Processes, plus case studies and guided procedures to facilitate learning and internalizing the method. The text also serves as the foundational text for the WCSI online course that provides step-by-step instructions on how to integrate and ground the philosophy and abstracts of Human Caring Theory into practice. New to the Second Edition: New and updated content throughoutPresents new examples from authors' research for cultivating daily Caritas and mindfulness practicesEach Caritas Process chapter includes micro-practice examples from scholarly work demonstrating use of Watson's TheoryAbundant case studies demonstrate how others have implemented Caring Science and Mindfulness in everyday life and work Key Features: Engages newcomers in learning Human Caring Theory and deepens understanding for current practitionersFacilitates integration of the philosophy and abstracts of Human Caring Theory into clinical practiceProvides abundant case studies and guided activities to reinforce contentIncludes guided mindfulness and artistic practices for each of the Ten Caritas ProcessesDesigned for a diverse audience including undergraduate, graduate, and international nursing and health science studentsServes as the foundational text for the companion WCSI online course (including videos)
Understanding the Work of Nurse Theorists a Creative Beginning by
Understanding the Work of Nursing Theorists, Third Edition presents the difficult concepts of nursing theory through the use of art. While most theory texts are complex and more detailed than what is needed for students at an introductory level of theory, this text offers a different approach to teaching and learning nursing theory. Definitions and basic concepts are presented along with a brief overview of a selection of common nursing theories. The author encourages creativity through art in an effort to engage students and make them more active learners. The Third Edition includes new chapters on the theories of Patricia Benner, Imogene King, and Rosemarie Parse as well as a chapter on the process of theory development by Jean Watson. The Application to Practice sections are new and will appear as research article in each theorist chapter.Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools. To learn more about how to transform your course with Navigate 2 Advantage Access visit www.jblnavigate.com/2.
The Suffering Human Being by
"In The Suffering Human Being, Eriksson integrates her caring research findings with philosophy, psychology and theology to present a broad perspective of suffering related to illness, to care, and to life. For Eriksson, the ultimate purpose of caring is to alleviate the suffering of others through compassion, confirmation of dignity, and a caring communion that is based on caritas, or love. In her Preface to The Suffering Human Being, Eriksson writes, ...I have tried to speak of a suffering where hope and despair meet, where light and darkness break like waves against each other in the distant horizon, where the rays of hope illuminate the way. It is a message about life and love and about the human being s infinite potential and the all-embracing communion of love that unites human beings around the world... The Suffering Human Being will gain a better understanding of suffering in caring and in their own lives, and thus be better able to alleviate the suffering of others. Dr. Katie Eriksson, Åbo Akademi University in Vaasa, Finland, is a leading figure in the field of caring sciences. Her book is a philosophy and theology of caring for the suffering." - From Amazon
Culture Care Diversity and Universality by 
Health As Expanding Consciousness by
For Margaret Newman, disease is not an enemy that strikes a victim. Health and disease comprise a unitary whole of individual and environment. This book is an inspiration to those seeking a full experience of personal health.
A Study of Caring Within an Institutional Culture by
Scholarship related to the concept of caring within the discipline of nursing has increased exponentially in the last thirty years. A significant body of knowledge has advanced from philosophical and quantitative and qualitative inquiry. Ray conducted one of the first research studies to illuminate the meaning, generate categories, and discover substantive and formal theories of caring in the hospital culture. In this study, comparative data of different social units of persons, professional roles, clinical units, and documents formed the basis from which a classification system and theoretical frames of reference were discovered. A substantive theory of Differential Caring was discovered from the meaning of patterns of caring in different hospital units, and using an Hegelian approach, a formal theory Bureaucratic Caring was synthesized. The future of nursing now depends on how well the nature of the Theory of Bureaucratic Caring is understood and applied in complex healthcare organizations to facilitate improvement in quality of care. See Ray and Turkel's further research on the study of Bureaucratic Caring Theory in the additional Reference List supplied in this book.
Transcultural Caring Dynamics in Nursing and Health Care, Second Edition by
How do you perceive your cultural identity? All of us are shaped by the cultures we interact with and the cultural backgrounds and ethnicities that are part of our heritage. Take a dynamic approach to the study of culture and health care relationships. Dr. Marilyn A. Ray shows us how cultures influence one another through inter-cultural relationships, technology, globalization, and mass communication, and how these influences directly shape our cultural identities in today’s world. She integrates theory, practice, and evidence of transcultural caring to show you how to apply transcultural awareness to your clinical decision making. Go beyond common stereotypes using a framework that can positively impact the nurse-patient relationship and the decision-making process. You’ll learn how to deliver culturally competent care through the selection and application of transcultural assessment, planning and negotiation tools for interventions.
Nursing Theorists and Their Work by
Find the thinking of 39 leading nursing theorists in one comprehensive text! Nursing Theorists and Their Work, 10th Edition provides a clear, in-depth look at nursing theories of historical and international significance. Each chapter presents a key nursing theory or philosophy, showing how systematic theoretical evidence can enhance decision making, professionalism, and quality of care. Lead author Martha Raile Alligood is known nationally and internationally for her expertise in nursing theory. A classic in the field of nursing theory, this text uses objective critiques, case studies, and critical thinking activities to bridge the gap between nursing theory and application. Scholars specializing in the work of a specific nursing theorist write each theorist chapter, often having worked closely with the theorists, to provide the most accurate and complete information. Case studies at the end of each theorist chapter put the theory into a larger perspective, demonstrating how it can be applied to practice. Critical thinking activities at the end of each theorist chapter help you understand the theory presented and apply it to personal and hypothetical situations. Diagrams and graphics help you to visualize and better understand abstract concepts and theories. History of nursing theory development includes its significance to the discipline and practice of the nursing profession. Brief summary sections in theorist chapters enhance comprehension and make it easier to review for tests. Major Concepts & Definitions box in each theorist chapter outlines a theory's most significant ideas and clarifies vocabulary. Points for Further Study section at the end of each chapter indicates sources of additional information. References at the end of theorist chapters list the author's primary and secondary sources of information. NEW theorists, chapter authors, and case studies provide research and expertise from countries across the world. NEW references and bibliographies demonstrate the ever-increasing use of nursing theory globally.
Nursing Theorists and Their Work by
Nursing Theorists and Their Work, 9th Edition provides you with an in-depth look at 39 theorists of historical, international, and significant importance. Includes the following theorist: Afaf Ibrahim Meleis, Anne Boykin & Savina O Schoenhofer, Betty Neuman, Carolyn L Wiener & Marilyn J Dodd, Cheryl Tatano Beck, Cornelia M Ruland & Shirley M Moore, Dorothy E Johnson, Dorothea E Orem, Florence Nightingale, Georgene Gaskill Eakes, Mary Lermann Burke, Margaret A Hainsworth, Gladys L Husted & James H Husted, Helen C Erickson, Evelyn M Tomlin, Mary Ann p Swain, Imogene M King, Jean Watson, Kari Martinsen, Katherine Kolcaba, Katie Eriksson, Kristen M Swanson, Madeleine M Leininger, Margaret A Newman, Marilyn Anne Ray, Martha E Rogers, Merle H Mishel, Myra Estrin Levine, Nola J Pender, Pamela G Reed, Patricia Benner, Phil Barker, Ramona T Mercer, Rosemarie Rizzo Parse, Sister Callista Roy.
Caring for the Vulnerable by
This text explores vulnerability from the perspective of individuals, groups, communities, and populations, and addresses the implication of that vulnerability for nurses, nursing, and nursing care. Organized into six units, the text presents a basic structure for caring for the vulnerable, and forms a theoretical perspective on caring within a cultural context, with the ultimate goal of providing culturally competent care. Written specifically for nurses, by nurses, Caring for the Vulnerable is a timely and necessary response to the culturally diverse vulnerable populations for whom nurses must provide appropriate and precise care.
Self Care Theory in Nursing by
Few have approached the fundamental questions of nursing in such an insightful, systematic, and clearsighted way as Dorothea Orem. This book is a collection of many of the presentations and writings that are not included in her previous books. It presents a fascinating view of the development of Orem's theory of self care deficit over a forty-year period, along with its ramifications for nursing education and practice.
Perspectives on Nursing Theory by
This book is an anthology of classic and contemporary nursing articles that address various theoretical and philosophical perspectives on the nature of theory and knowledge development. It is designed to provide a comprehensive overview of the important discussions taking place regarding the structures and processes of knowledge building in nursing.
From Novice to Expert by
This coherent presentation of clinical judgement, caring practices and collaborative practice provides ideas and images that readers can draw upon in their interactions with others and in their interpretation of what nurses do. It includes many clear, colorful examples and describes the five stages of skill acquisition, the nature of clinical judgement and experiential learning and the seven major domains of nursing practice. The narrative method captures content and contextual issues that are often missed by formal models of nursing knowledge. The book uncovers the knowledge embedded in clinical nursing practice and provides the Dreyfus model of skill acquisition applied to nursing, an interpretive approach to identifying and describing clinical knowledge, nursing functions, effective management, research and clinical practice, career development and education, plus practical applications. For nurses and healthcare professionals.
Clinical Wisdom and Interventions in Acute and Critical Care by
A classic research-based text in nursing practice and education, this newly revised second edition explains, through first-hand accounts of the hard-earned experiential wisdom of expert nurses, the clinical reasoning skills necessary for top-tier nursing in acute and critical settings. It provides not only the most current knowledge and practice innovations, but also reflects the authors' vast experience using the first edition in practice and educational settings. This updated edition includes new interviews from acute care, critical care, perioperative nurses, and more. Attention is paid to current IOM and nursing guidelines for systems approaches to patient safety, with education and leadership implications described throughout. It is an essential resource for undergraduate and graduate nursing educators, students, administrators, and managers seeking to improve systems of care and leadership in clinical practice. Key Features Articulates major areas of knowledge and skill in acute, critical care, and perioperative nursing practice Provides vivid, first-hand accounts of hard-earned wisdom that facilitate clinical imagination, reflection, and lifelong learning Assists faculty, educators, APNs, and mentors in teaching nurses how to recognize recurring clinical syndromes and patterns Bridges the gap from theory to practice in dynamic patient care situations Embraces the complexity of caring for the critically ill and their families
Tidal Model by
The Tidal Model represents a significant alternative to mainstream mental health theories, emphasising how those suffering from mental health problems can benefit from taking a more active role in their own treatment. Based on extensive research, The Tidal Model charts the development of this approach, outlining the theoretical basis of the model to illustrate the benefits of a holistic model of care which promotes self-management and recovery. Clinical examples are also employed to show how, by exploring rather than ignoring a client's narrative, practitioners can encourage the individual's greater involvement in the decisions affecting their assessment and treatment. The appendices guide the reader in developing their own assessment and care plans. The Tidal Model's comprehensive coverage of the theory and practice of this model will be of great use to a range of mental health professionals and those in training in the fields of mental health nursing, social work, psychotherapy, clinical psychology and occupational therapy.
The Human Becoming School of Thought by
In her latest book the renowned nursing scholar Rosemarie Rizzo Parse revisits the concepts first presented in her seminal work Man-Living Health: A Theory of Nursing and prepares the groundwork for further exploration as we enter the twenty-first century. Developing from philosophical foundations laid down by Martha Rogers and the existential phenomenologists, Parse's theory of human becoming has evolved into a school of thought, enabling nurses and nursing scholars to understand people and their universe in a unique way, thus providing a human science context for nursing research and practice.
Middle Range Theories by
The most complete and detailed book devoted to middle range theories, Middle Range Theories: Application to Nursing Research and Practice examines theories and their applications in clinical nursing research and practice. In this fourth edition, the authors address this dynamic relationship with increased emphasis on applications of middle range theories to practice. Every theory chapter includes examples of the theory's use in research, its application to clinical practice and critical thinking exercises. The authors provide expert advice on selecting the appropriate theory for a nursing research project and developing the critical thinking skills needed to critique theories. Each theory chapter provides the nurse researcher with a variety of tools. Key features of the fourth edition include: Brand New chapters exploring concepts surrounding Spiritual Care and Change Definitions of key terms to define concepts and aid the reader's understanding of theories New research studies, diagrams, and explanations to illustrate "The Arc"--how theory improves practice and practice shapes theory Research Application boxes provide a sample application of the theory modeling the research process Critical Thinking Exercises at the end of each chapter engage readers in analysis of the theory and its application to practice Examples of Theory in Practice tables link research to evidence-based practice
Nightingale's Legacy by
Nightingale's Legacy: The Evolution of American Nurse Leaders shows "the nurses of today" how to leverage the wisdom of the icons of nursing to inform their own daily work and fuel the future of nursing. The book examines the pivotal historical achievements of 20 prominent nurse leaders from Florence Nightingale's time to the present. Included in this must-have text are lessons on patient- centered care, legislative advocacy, innovation, record-keeping, cultural diversity, and education. Nightingale's Legacy: The Evolution of American Nurse Leaders dissects the crucial challenges that nurses have faced and conquered over the span of 155 years. More importantly, the book showcases how you can best use these achievements in your own practice. Nightingale's Legacy: The Evolution of American Nurse Leaders does what no other book has done before by chronicling how past and present nurse leaders continue to advance Nightingale's legacy by: - Launching new medical practices and technologies. - Providing care and support for soldiers and families. - Challenging discrimination in nursing. - Lobbying to influence health care legislation. - And so much more!
This course focuses on issues and concepts that influence contemporary professional nursing practice. Theory is discussed in relation to practice and knowledge development. Transformations in health care and the nursing profession created by changing economics, demographics, and technical forces are explored. Concerns related to the ethical, legal, cultural, and social issues that influence nursing practice are examined. The concept of lifelong learning is discussed in the context of transition to baccalaureate education and practice.
Find more information on common nursing theories and models:
University of San Diego - Nursing Theory and Research
Clayton State University - Nursing Theory Link Page