The online book catalog is located at the top of this guide under "Physical Books" tab. Books can be found by searching title, author, or subject. The books are located in the stacks arranged by the Dewey Decimal System:
Cognition and Occupation Across the Lifespan by
The translation of cognitive neuroscience into occupational therapy practice is a required competence that helps practitioners understand human performance and provides best practice in the profession. This comprehensive new edition represents a significant advancement in the knowledge translation of cognition and its theoretical and practical application to occupational therapy practice with children and adults. Chapters, written by leaders in an international field, focus on cognition that is essential to everyday life. Each cognitive model includes a theoretical base; intervention, including evaluation procedures, assessment instruments, and treatment methods; individual and group treatment case studies that illustrate the intervention process; and research supporting the evidence base of the model or parts of it. Chapters feature learning objectives and review questions.
The Occupational Therapy Manager by
In today's health care, occupational therapy managers and leaders must be prepared to ensure delivery of high-quality care; staff morale and efficiency remain high; businesses and organizations are profitable; and the profession is recognized by other health care professionals, reimbursers, and clients as a valuable service steeped in evidence. The bestselling Occupational Therapy Manager can help occupational therapy practitioners become capable, effective leaders across all practice settings. This new edition includes 76 new chapters in 12 sections that cover leadership and management foundations, organizational planning and culture, navigating change and uncertainty, outcomes and documentation, interprofessional practice and teams, supervision, communication, finance and budgeting, professional standards, ethical and legal considerations, managing your career, and public policy. Each chapter includes learning objectives, key terms, essential considerations and practical applications in occupational therapy, a case example, and relevant ACOTE Standards. The most comprehensive management book in the profession, this is a fundamental, classic text for all occupational therapy students, practitioners, and managers.
Occupational Therapy with Elders by
Get the focused foundation you need to successfully work with older adults. Occupational Therapy with Elders: Strategies for the COTA, 4th Edition is the only comprehensive book on geriatric occupational therapy designed specifically for the certified occupational therapy assistant. It provides in-depth coverage of each aspect of geriatric practice - from wellness and prevention to death and dying. Expert authors Helene Lohman, Sue Byers-Connon, and René Padilla offer an unmatched discussion of diverse populations and the latest on geriatric policies and procedures in this fast-growing area of practice. You will come away with a strong foundation in aging trends and strategies for elder care in addition to having a deep understanding of emerging areas such as low-vision rehabilitation, driving and mobility issues, Alzheimer's disease and other forms of dementia, new technological advancements, health literacy, public policy, dignity therapy, and more. Plus, you will benefit from 20 additional evidence briefs and numerous case studies to help apply all the information you learn to real-life practice. It's the focused, evidence-based, and client-centered approach that every occupational therapy assistant needs to effectively care for today's elder patients. UNIQUE! Focus on the occupational therapy assistant highlights the importance of COTAs to the care of elder clients. Unique! Attention to diverse populations and cultures demonstrates how to respect and care for clients of different backgrounds. UNIQUE! Discussion of elder abuse, battered women, and literacy includes information on how the OTA can address these issues that are often overlooked. User resources on Evolve feature learning activities to help you review what you have learned and assess your comprehension. Case studies at the end of certain chapters illustrate principles and help you understand content as it relates to real-life situations. Multidisciplinary approach demonstrates the importance of collaboration between the OT and OTA by highlighting the OTA's role in caring for the elderly and how they work in conjunction with occupational therapists. Key terms, chapter objectives, and review questions are found in each chapter to help identify what information is most important. NEW! 20 Additional evidence briefs have been added to reinforce this book's evidence-based client-centered approach. NEW! Incorporation of EMR prevalence and telehealth as a diagnostic and monitoring tool have been added throughout this new edition. NEW! Expanded content on mild cognitive impairment, health literacy, and chronic conditions have been incorporated throughout the book to reflect topical issues commonly faced by OTs and OTAs today. NEW! Coverage of technological advancements has been incorporated in the chapter on sensory impairments. NEW! Other updated content spans public policy, HIPAA, power of attorney, advanced directives, alternative treatment settings, dignity therapy, and validation of the end of life. NEW! Merged chapters on vision and hearing impairments create one sensory chapter that offers a thorough background in both areas.
Pedretti's Occupational Therapy - E-Book by
Pedretti's Occupational Therapy: Practice Skills for Physical Dysfunction, 8th Edition prepares you for occupational therapy practice with adults who have physical disabilities. This cornerstone text provides a foundation for the development of clinical reasoning skills in a comprehensive, case-based learning approach to physical dysfunction. New full color photos and helpful pedagogy, including threaded case studies, OT Practice Notes, ethical considerations, and end-of-chapter review questions, reinforce learning, enhance retention, and prompt you to apply principles in a clinical setting. UNIQUE! Threaded case studies, woven throughout each chapter, help you apply concepts to real-life clinical practice. UNIQUE! Ethical Considerations boxes highlight the key ethical concerns of treatment options so you can practice ethically. UNIQUE! OT Practice Notes convey important considerations for professional practice. Focuses on the occupational therapist's role in health and wellness, which the OTA has identified as a key practice area in the 21st century. Information on prevention, rather than simply intervention or treatment, shows how OTs can take a proactive role in patient care. Evidence-based content included throughout, especially in regards to evaluation and intervention. Content on occupational therapy's commitment to considering cultural and ethnic diversity in every chapter. Key terms, chapter outlines, chapter objectives lay out the information you can expect to learn from each chapter.
Occupational Therapy in Mental Health by
A person-centered, recovery-oriented, and occupation-based approach to mental health across the lifespan This revision of a well-loved text continues to embrace the confluence of person, environment, and occupation in mental health as its organizing theoretical model, emphasizing the lived experience of mental illness and recovery. Rely on this groundbreaking text to guide you through an evidence-based approach to helping clients with mental health disorders on their recovery journey by participating in meaningful occupations. Understand the recovery process for all areas of their lives--physical, emotional, spiritual, and mental--and know how to manage co-occurring conditions. Content has been updated to follow the most current DSM-5 information and best practices from the evidence. New chapters highlight changes in occupational therapy practice and settings, and additional assessment and intervention content strengthens the applicability to current practice.
Willard and Spackman's Occupational Therapy by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Celebrating 100 years of the Occupational Therapy profession, this Centennial Edition of Willard & Spackman's Occupational Therapy continues to live up to its well-earned reputation as the foundational book that welcomes students into their newly chosen profession. Now fully updated to reflect current practice, the 13th Edition remains the must-have resource that students that will use throughout their entire OT program, from class to fieldwork and throughout their careers. One of the top texts informing the NBCOT certification exam, it is a must have for new practitioners. Packed with first-person narratives that offer a unique perspective on the lives of those living with disease, this edition offers much that is new as it continues to help students and clinicians develop the knowledge and skills they need to apply a client-centered, evidence-based and culturally relevant approach across the full spectrum of practice settings. NEW! Each Unit is now reflective of the nomenclature for the new domains and processes covered in AOTA's Occupational Therapy Practice Framework, 3rd Edition. NEW! "Centennial Notes" sections showcase perspectives from the history of OT, providing inspiring context to students entering the profession. NEW! A stronger global focus, which reflects more the professional as a global entity, prepares students to work effectively in today's global environment NEW! Coverage of the latest considerations in the field prepares students to work with the full range of clients, including veterans suffering from PTSD, the homeless, and individuals who identify as LGBTQI. COMPREHENSIVE: The 13th Edition is the only text in the field to cover the full breadth and scope of occupational therapy, summarizing important and complex material in a completely accessible way. INTEGRATED: Integrated coverage of evaluation and intervention processes gives students a holistic overview of the field. PRACTICE-ORIENTED: Case Studie s serve as models for problem-solving in dealing with clients, practice issues, and managing OT services and staff. INVITING: A striking full-color design filled with photos and illustrations welcomes today's students into this classic text. STUDENT-FRIENDLY : In-text learning aids, including Chapter Outlines. Learning Objectives, and Practice Dilemmas, help students master the material and prepare them for the current realities of OT practice. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
Occupational Therapy for Physical Dysfunction by
Lippincott® Connect Featured Title Purchase the new print edition of this Lippincott® Connect title includes access to the digital version of the book, plus related materials such as videos and multiple-choice Q&A and self-assessments. Designed to help students become effective, reflective practitioners, this fully updated edition of the most widely used occupational therapy text for the course continues to emphasize the "whys" as well as the "how-tos" of holistic assessment and treatment. Now in striking full color and co-edited by renowned educators and authors Diane Powers Dirette and Sharon Gutman, Occupational Therapy for Physical Dysfunction, Eighth Edition features expert coverage of the latest assessment techniques and most recent trends in clinical practice. In addition, the book now explicitly integrates "Frames of Reference" to help students connect theories to practice and features a new six-part organization, thirteen all-new chapters, new pedagogy, and more. NEW! An expert new co-editor team brings a breadth of experience to this edition. NEW! AFrames of Reference section shows students how to connect the concepts to actual practice. NEW!Five new chapters in Sections 1, 2, and 3 cover Documentation of Occupational Therapy Services (Chapter 6), Visual Perceptual Assessment and Intervention (Chapter 9), Communication Assessment and Intervention (18), Cranial Nerve Assessment (20), and Assistive Technology (Chapter 26). NEW! Eight new chapters in Sections 4, 5, and 6 cover Biomechanical, Rehabilitation: Motor Learning and Task-Oriented Approach; Functional Uses of Neurological Approaches; Diabetes; Alzheimer's Disease and Other Dementias; Chronic Pain and Fibromyalgia; Sleep Disorders Secondary to Orthopedic and Neurological Disorders; and Psychosocial Adaptation to Disability. NEW! Major updates to the coverage of Rehabilitation Technology prepare students for practice in today's rapidly changing environment. NEW! Online videos are now referred to at relevant areas of the text to further reinforce concepts and bring techniques to life. Case Examples describe both the OT process and the clinical reasoning behind the interventions. Evidence tables summarize research studies to equip students with the best evidence for the effectiveness of the interventions. Assessment tables highlight the psychometric properties and the strengths and weaknesses of individual assessment methods. Lippincott® Connect features: Full access to the digital version of the book with the ability to highlight and take notes on key passages for a more personal, efficient study experience. Carefully curated resources, including interactive diagrams, video tutorials, flashcards, organ sounds, and self-assessment, all designed to facilitate further comprehension. Lippincott® Connect also allows users to create Study Collections to further personalize the study experience. With Study Collections you can: Pool content from books across your entire library into self-created Study Collections based on discipline, procedure, organ, concept or other topics. Display related text passages, video clips and self-assessment questions from each book (if available) for efficient absorption of material. Annotate and highlight key content for easy access later. Navigate seamlessly between book chapters, sections, self-assessments, notes and highlights in a single view/page.
Occupational Therapy, Disability Activism, and Me by 
Conditions in Occupational Therapy by 
Occupational Therapy in Community and Population Health Practice by 
Most occupational therapy journals are online but there are a couple that we do not have access to online.
The following are accessible in print located within the library:
New Mobility
OT Practice
The following journals are available online:
